top of page

Palmer Wins First of the Season at Devil's Bowl

Track position if often the key at Devil's Bowl Speedway. Saturday night Mike Palmer took advantage of his first row starting spot and went on to win claim the Sunoco Sportsmen Modified feature on Stone Motors night at "The Bowl."

Palmer took control right away, battling Adam Piper into turn one to take the lead and never looked back.

Nothing was stopping Palmer on this night as he earned his first win of the season and a trip to victory lane to salute the fans. James Hanson, Todd Stone, Brent Warren, and Billy Lussier completed the top five finishers.

Billy Lussier, Mike Palmer, and Justin Comes were heat race winners. David Bosclair earned Elmo’s Pit Stop Bonus Bucks worth $100 via random draw at the pit meeting. Todd Stone put in work racing his way from 17th to 3rd earning the Mike Watts Memorial Hard Charger honors, also worth a $100 bonus presented by the folks at Elmo’s Pit Stop. It was his 4th Hard Charger award of the season.

Wade Acker has been working hard on improving and Saturday night it paid off after parking it in O’Reilly Auto Parts Limited Sportsman victory lane. He raced to the lead passing AJ Munger on lap five, and never looked back claiming victory in his Acker Waste Management number 367 Bicknell Racing Chassis. Randy Ryan, Justin Lilly, Bob Kilburn, and Gary English completed the top five finishers.

Bubba McPhee, Jason Quenneville, and Wade Acker earned heat race victories.

Kamden Duffy made another visit to victory lane in the 20-lap Hoosier Daddy Racing Rookie Sportsman main event. He started 9th and took the lead from Randy Edson on lap 14 driving his Meadowbrook Trucking number 42 Bicknell Racing Chassis. William Lussier Jr., Randy Edson, Daryl Gebo, and Holden Bass rounded out the top five finishers.

Donald Williams and Holden Bass were heat race winners.

Chris Conroy earned his second win of the season in the 15-lap Mini Stock A-Main. He put in work starting 16th and storming to the lead with his Allstar Seal Coating number 78. He was followed by Chris Sumner, Mark Mahoney, Ron Alger, and Austin McKirryher completing the top five finishers.

Mark Mahoney, Ron Alger, and Clemmy Bell were heat race winners. Donald Olden won the 10-lap Mini Stock B-Main.

Logan Denis earned his third Friend Construction 15-lap 500cc Mini Sprint feature win on Saturday night. He started 10th in his Green Mountain Garage number 24, and rolled to another victory lane visit making a dramatic late race pass on Raelin Dunham. Rounding out the top five finishers were Dunham, Vern Woodard, Chris Lennox, and Lane Saville.

Vern Woodard and Raelin Dunham earned heat race wins.

Another $500 to win 50-lap Enduro was the nightcap, where Tim Dunster claimed victory and a trip to the front stretch. He was followed by Brent Warren, Joey Roberts, Dan Deforges, and Scott Richner who completed the top five finishers.

Next up for Devil’s Bowl Speedway is the highly anticipated CJ Richards Classic ‘Battle at the Bowl’ weekend. Saturday August 6th there is no racing, just open practice, and hauler parking. Sunday pit gates opening at 3 PM, grandstands opening at 4:30 PM, and racing scheduled to start at 6 PM with a huge show including Sunoco Sportsman Modifieds going 40-laps for $2,000 to win, Limited Sportsman, Mini Stock, and featuring the 67-lap Big Block/Small Block CJ Richards Classic ‘Battle at the Bowl’ worth $10,000 to the victor.

Photo Credit-Devil's Bowl Speedway

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page