top of page

Border Country Sports Blog-June 28th

Good Morning! With the Border Country Sports Blog, I'm Keith Harrington.

First off congratulations are in order. Congratulations to my colleague Tom Haley of the Rutland Herald. Last night Tom received the Vermont Sportswriter of the Year award from the National Sports Media Associtation. It is the tenth time Tom ha been recognized with award. I can't think of anyone more dserving.

I had a great afternoon yesterday as I got to sit down with Argyle softball coach Lexi Nassivera. Nassivera, in her first year at the helm of the Scots led her team to the Section II and Regional Class D titles. Lexi was guest for a recording of the NYVTmedia Sports Show powered by Greenwich Ford.

Lexi and I had a great time talking about Argyle's run to the state semifinals, the Scot's season in general, and of course her husband Justin who is the AD and coaches at Granville who is always good for some fun stories and is a huge supporter of Lexi.

The latest episode of the NYVTmedia Sports Show will drop Friday on the NYVTmedia website and social media pages. Don't miss it!


Hammond Wins Sportsmen Modified Feature at Devil's Bowl

It was a good night for the Granite State in the Sportsmen Modified featre Saturday Night at Devil's Bowl Speedway. New Hampshire's Walter Hammond made the jaunt to West Haven, VT. worthwhile as he grabbed the win in the 30 lap feature event.

Justin Stone was second and Tanner Siemons, who races out of Orford, New Hampshire was third. Josh Masterson and Justin Comes rounded out the top five.

Evan Roberts continued to be red hot picking up his third O’Reilly Auto Parts Limited Sportsman 25-lap feature win.

Robert Gauthier claimed his first 20-lap Hoosier Daddy Racing Rookie Sportsman feature wins of the season.

Chris Murray picked up his second 15-lap Super Stock win of the season,

Chris Conroy earned the mini stockA Main win. Josh Ostertag won the B Main.

Chris Lennox parked it in victory lane for his first Friend Construction 15-lap 500cc Mini Sprint feature win of the season.

Next up for Devil’s Bowl Speedway is the annual Independence Day Spectacular including the largest Fireworks display in Central Vermont. All weekly divisions will be in action (no Super Stock) plus the SCONE 360 Sprint Cars. Pit gates open at 2 PM, grandstands open at 4:30 PM, with racing scheduled to start at 6 PM.

Here are the top five for each division from Saturday night:


1 – Walter J. Hammond (98H)

2 – Todd Stone (1X)

3 – Tanner Siemons (5)

4 – Josh Masterson (11X)

5 – Justin Comes (51)


1 – Evan Roberts (50X)

2 – Justin Lilly (44)

3 – Hunter Nutter (07)

4 – Tim Aldrighetti (14S)

5 – Scott Fitzgerald (5VT)


1 – Robert Gauthier (34X)

2 – William Lussier Jr. (25)

3 – Daryl Gebo (18)

4 – Randy Edson (12)

5 – Camden Duffy (42)


1 – Chris Conroy (78)

2 – Mark Mahoney (83)

3 – Tyler Bell (9)

4 – Clemmy Bell (18B)

5 – Griff Mahoney (10)


1 – Josh Ostertag (93)

2 – Jakobee Alger (54JR)

3 – Robert Steves (625)

4 – Luke Fellows (18i)

5 – TJ Knight (11)

500cc MINI SPRINTS (15 Laps)

1 – Chris Lennox (17)

2 – Kevin Smith (67)

3 – Logan Dennis (24)

4 – Raelin Dunham (76)

5 – Chayton Young (48)


1 – Chris Murray (7)

2 – Josh Bussino (2X)

3 – Mike Bussino (1X)

4 – Andrew Fitzgerald (55)

5 – Garrett Given (82G)


With the Border Country Sports Blog, I'm Keith Harrington.

Photo Credit-Devil's Bowl Speedway

26 views0 comments


bottom of page